What if you don’t actually want to break for lunch?

I don’t need breaks during the day.

(New research from Stanford suggests that this might not be misplaced arrogance, but rather a function of my beliefs about willpower. If I don’t think I need breaks, probably I don’t need breaks. It’s that simple.)

Nor do I want breaks. I love my job, I find it stimulating, and frankly it’s a bit irritating to have to stop to eat and go to the bathroom. I find my field of work the most interesting topic there is, so by definition stopping doing work means doing something less interesting.

This gives me a dilemma at lunchtime.

I have to eat, eventually. I usually delay it until I physically can’t work any more, around 2 p.m. Usually by this time my assistant has asked me kindly if I’ve had time for lunch yet and I’ve mumbled something to get her off my case.

I could always eat at my desk, or take food into a meeting. But I don’t want to role model a lack of breaks. There’s at least some evidence that some people need breaks. Not everyone enjoys their work like I do.

So I hide. I hide in a little meeting room, with some light reading that I save up during the day, and my introvert batteries get recharged along with my glycogen levels.

Harvard Business Review had an interesting article today called ‘It’s Time To Bring Back the Executive Dining Room‘. It would help people like me keep working.

This entry was posted in Management and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

